Best Grouper Sandwich, Anywhere

Last week I was visiting friends in Clearwater Florida, and it was one of the best trips ever. Family, friends, and food.  The trip was especially memorable as I didn’t pay for a single meal… or drink as Charlie Sichterman picked up the tab when we met Chris Roberson at BJ’s Brew House.  I would have posted a video of this experience as well but I dropped my camera in a cup of coffee.

 Frenchy’s Still Rules

In 1981 my father and his new bride took me to the Original Frenchy’s on Clearwater Beach. Whenever I get to Clearwater I have to visit Frenchy’s, now with 4 locations on the beach. On this trip I met my step-mother at Frenchy’s Saltwater Cafe. In my travels  I haven’t found a better grouper sandwich anywhere. I’m sure sentiment  has something to do with it, but in my mind there is no equal.

A special shout out to Mike Fisher (really, Fisher) GM at the Original Frenchy’s Cafe and Tony Shook, manager of Frency’s Seafood for taking time to speak with me.

Clearwater’s other claim to fame is the home of the original Hooters.

1 thought on “Best Grouper Sandwich, Anywhere

Leave a comment